In the beginning there was…

Disappointment.

 
That can be a scary word, especially when it’s yourself you’re disappointed in. Before I started Weight Watchers, I was always tired, sad, felt useless, and hated the way I looked. I was disappointed and angry that I let my body get to this point. I wanted a change and so I signed up for Weight Watchers the beginning of this year.
When I first started WW, I went full force… Nothing was stopping me. I lost 9lbs my first week and thought I would cry I was so happy with myself! I continued to keep losing until after almost 2 months I was down almost 20lbs. That is an excellent start! I was feeling so happy! Clothes that once didn’t fit started fitting again, and I actually enjoyed how I was looking. I remember going on the community threads on the WW website, and reading stories of people who had just as much as me to lose, taking them 3 or more years to get to their goal. At that time, my heart just sank… I got discouraged and said, “what’s the point if it takes that long?” (Looking back now, I can see that I was very naive.)
These last few months. I pretty much gave up on myself. I let all the hard work fall to the back burner. I blamed it on “life getting in the way” but really, I just lost all the motivation I once had. Makes me sad how easily I just gave up.
 

Disappointment.

There’s that terrible D word again… I noticed in the beginning of November that I started feeling all of those dreaded feelings again; tired, sad, hating the way I was looking, etc. So, I signed up for a 5K. I told myself that I wanted NEEDED to get back into the swing of things again. So on the cold morning of Thanksgiving, my best friend and I, along with her family, went and did the 5K. Words really can’t describe how proud I was of myself. I honestly get teared up just thinking about it. It was the second time in my life that I did something that I’ve never done before along the lines of “bettering myself”. Granted a 5K is really only 3 miles, but everyone has to start somewhere.
Rachel and I at the end of the 5K.

Rachel and I at the end of the 5K.

Fast forward to right now. I’ve never had a public blog for the world to see, and I may not end up liking it… But I want to share my story. The story of a girl who was sick of the way she looked and felt, and so she went on a long, hard journey to find the lost person she’s seen only in her dreams.

Disappointment Succeed.

Yeah, that’s a better word. I will not let myself be disappointed from now on. I won’t read stories and think, “what’s the point if it takes that long…” The point? The point is that I am bettering myself, and taking steps forward to being who I really want to be. So if it takes 3+ years, isn’t it worth it to be happy in the end and succeed in my goal?

YES!

Leave a Reply

