To chop or not to chop… that is the question.

Hello everyone!

So, after 8 months of not getting my hair done, (not colored, cut, or even trimmed) I FINALLY talked myself into doing it on Monday. I’m still keeping the Ombre look (I just love it, even when and if it goes out of style I will still be rocking it… I just love it so much.) BUT this is where I’m having my thoughts… Do I cut it and go shorter or do I keep it kinda the same length? I so wanna chop it!

I really wanna cut it. Like really bad. On that same thought though… Long hair is my security blanket. Always has been, and I think it always will be. I know it’s just hair and that it will grow back! I think the major reason I actually want to cut it is because I want to start a brand new chapter. By cutting my hair, I feel like that’s how I’ll be starting.

I need opinions! I mean, I think it looks cute short, but I also think it looks cute long. What do you think I should do? 🙂

13 thoughts on “To chop or not to chop… that is the question.

  1. C-La says:

    You look great either way. I always think of convenience in the mornings before I get my haircut then I regret not going for it. Thankfully hair grows back so why not take the chance. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aubrie says:

      I’ve been trying to think of ways it will be convenient for both and I think it’s helping me make a decision… With the short hair it will be so much easier to style, (I have super thick hair so when it’s long like this, I rarely do anything fun with it). In that same aspect its so much easier to just throw it in a pony! That’s so boring though!

      I think I’m going to just take the chance and go for the cut. Like you said, it will grow back!! Hopefully I won’t chicken out in the chair! 😛

      Thanks for your opinion! 😀

      Like

  2. Alison says:

    I just love short hair, and I am totally in the drastic change camp! Plus, when I chopped off like a foot of hair 2 or so months ago, people kept telling me I looked like 10 years younger! I’m only 29, so this was sort of concerning. Lol. I say give it a good chop!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aubrie says:

      You look absolutely great with short hair!! I wish I could pull off a cut like yours! I’d never be able to, not now at least.

      It’s incredible to me how old people think I really am. I’ve gotten carded going to an R rate movies, I’ve been asked if I’m still in high school, and I was genuinely asked, “well you’re only 16 right?”. That was all within the last couple years too! So I get the feeling of concern! 😛

      Thanks for your opinion! I think I will take the jump and go for the cut! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. deborahcrocker says:

    You are adorable no matter what you choose. But I do think, even if you don’t cut short, a good shaping is in order.
    You could get a couple of inches off and adjust to that. Then if you want to, go back to get more cut off. You could do this a little at a time .
    Side note: I always waited until I could not stand my hair any longer before getting it cut. Then I told the hairdresser (been using her a long time & trust her completely) do whatever you want. I want something different. She would spend all this time fixing a different style. Then as soon as I washed it, right back to the same old style. She cut it so that it could go back to old style. LOL! It seems that she knows me better than I think. LOL !
    But each time I got a haircut – several inches , it always resulted in some weight loss. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

      I agree, I need to get it shaped up again, no matter what. I love face framing! I thought about getting it cut a little each time, but I really don’t go all that often, so by the time I actually go, it would be longer again. Plus, I would hate to keep bugging the gal I go to. She’s going back to school and is doing hair on the side, so I know she’s busy and I don’t want to be a pest!

      I love it when you can go to someone you can totally trust! I have that now, and I am very grateful!! What a smart stylist you have! 😀 Gotta love em!! I hate it when you go to a place to get it cut and they style it a certain way that you normally don’t, and then after you wash it at home, you can never get it to look remotely the same as what they did. Then after that, it just looks weird and awkward. (I’ve had many cuts like that… very disheartening!) Again, I’m glad we both have stylists we trust!

      Thank you for your opinion! I think after all this, I’m realizing I should just take the jump and go for the cut. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. OHPIY says:

    I go through this dilemma EVERY time I grow my hair out. When it gets long I get tired of the tangled-frizzy mess and chop it all off. However, when you get a short hairstyle 9 times out of 10 you must style it every day or it looks awful! With long hair you can throw on a headband or ponytail it. Basically, both styles have issues…maybe I’m just really lazy lol. Regardless, I think you’d look great with shorter hair!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      I’m at that point right now. My hair is so incredibly dry right now, that it’s like I have to cut it somewhat. I had my hair in a messy bun to workout yesterday and somehow, it turned into two rats nests. It was so incredibly bad. I took a picture of it and posted it to Facebook, I should post it on here. It’s pretty funny looking, but boy was it ever tangled.

      I agree, with short hair comes the responsibility of styling every day. Oh, do I love pony tails! I have my hair up all the time. I’m lazy when it comes to my hair, I’ll be honest! If I get it cut though, maybe I’ll be more energetic to work with it? One can hope! 😛

      Either way, I think I’m going to just go for it and cut it. I need some change. The up do’s are starting to get boring! I need some excitement added to my life! Thanks so much for your opinion! 😀

      Like

    • Aubrie says:

      Thank you 🙂 First thought is definitely to cut it, so I think I’m just going to do it. It’ll grow back! I just gotta stop thinking about it and just do it!

      Thank you for your opinion! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mel says:

    girls and their hair, right? In my opinion I like it better a little longer. Not like ultra long, but longer. But then you have to consider how your hair is, like healthy or anything (I can imagine if you bleached your ends, how it looks like, so it probably would be good to chop them off – I’ve had ombre look myself, so I know where you’re coming from). Anyway, I am actually thinking about the same. Got the appointment in a week, so lots of thinking ahead.. but in the end I won’t cut them (my hairdresser won’t cut them anyway, because she loves my long hair so much lol) 🙂 anyway, let us know and show us however you decided!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      Right! My hair on the ends is pretty damaged, especially from the bleaching, so I’ll definitely have to cut that off. (Oh the price to have beautiful locks…)

      I will definitely post pictures once its done! 😀 thanks for your opinion!! 🙂 good luck with your appointment as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

