What a beautiful spring day!

We were lucky to have another glorious spring day here in the land of 10,000 lakes. The sun was shining down, a slight breeze blowing, and I was feeling so great being outside soaking up every minute of it. There are mutliple trails by my house, but since it was lunch time, and super nice out, I decided that I would go the way with all the hills. I have come to the sad realization that I  have lost whatever shape I was in last fall. I was already huffin’ and puffin’ by the time I got up the first hill. (Okay and by hills I mean those gradual hills… not like mountain hills…) I never stopped though, I kept up with the momentum I had and kept on walking. I then started to walk past the middle school that’s just a few blocks from my house, and there was a class going to take a nature walk in the wooded area the middle school owns. As I was walking, I glanced up at a few of them walking and smiled. It’s a beautiful day and I was in a wonderful mood! After having the winter we had and then it’s been raining (and it snowed a couple days) this past week, how can you be anything but happy! Well, the looks I got in return were anything but “nice”. I got looked at up and down, a few looked at me then looked at their friend(s) then looked back at me and started laughing, and others who just wouldn’t even make eye contact period. I know I shouldn’t let any of that bother me because frankly, they’re kids who are stuck in school while I got to enjoy a walk on a beautiful day. So hah! About a mile after that, I happened to pass two teenage looking girls walking a dog. I again, got looked at like, “ugh gross”. I know none of this should bother me but it does. Why do people have to secretly or even openly shame others for trying to better themselves. I’m out trying to be a healthier version of myself… No one should have to get looked at funny or have others laugh or talk about the way you look. Again though, did any of that stop me? Hell no! I turned up my music a little louder and walked a little faster. It’s not my best time in the world, but the only thing that matters to me right now is that I got up and got outside and exercised. 🙂

6 thoughts on “What a beautiful spring day!

  1. Brittany says:

    Haters are gonna hate…fuck them! (virtually gives haters the finger) I’m just glad you kept going despite the looks. It always gets to me when it happens, but upon reflection, they must be really nasty/petty people inside to openly make someone feel bad about themselves. I hope that they can find it within themselves to be better people one day. If I get to the point where I’m not looked upon as plus size, I know I will be nothing but friendly and encouraging and that is all I can do :p

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

    Aubrie. There will always be arseholes. They will always look down their noses at others who do not fit the “normal” These people must be ignored or told to go f@*k themselves, either way you must not feel bad, they are the idiots with the problem.
    Just do what you are doing and ignore anyone with a different agenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      Amen to that. I think what bothered me the most was that the first group was middle-schoolers… so maybe 13/14… It’s sad that the world and social media has already tarnished their young minds into thinking and acting that way. Maybe it’s just my upbringing on “If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all”. I’m glad though that I didn’t let it bring me down! That in itself is a huge accomplishment! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

