I need help and advice…

So lately I’ve been reconsidering staying on Weight Watchers. For the past I don’t even know how many months, I’ve been paying the $20 a month and not even remotely using the website or app. If I’m going to be really honest and “be real” with you, I really haven’t even been eating healthy. I’m at a point now where I don’t know what to do. I don’t want to continue to waste money, but I would love to find something out there that resembles the ease of WW Online without having to pay so much. I looked into Lose It! (per Katrina) and it looks like it would be easy enough to use, I would just have to switch to actually counting calories rather than “points”, so that’s always something to further look into. I know there’s also My Fitness App out there, but I tried that once and got so dang confused. Maybe I just didn’t give it a good enough try.

Screen Shot 2015-04-17 at 11.21.44 AM

I’ve also been looking into purchasing the Jawbone Up2 that recently came out. It’s MUCH cheaper than the Fitbit HR I was wanting before, (you can read about that fiasco here in case you missed that post…) and it looks like it has pretty much the same specs as the Fitbit, minus the heart rate function. Its come to the point where I need something along the lines of a health tracker. I was trying to use apps on my phone, but I always set my phone down, and forget to pick it up, and end up walking somewhere and it doesn’t get tracked, or my phone completely dies and I’m SOL in that case as well. So, does anyone here use Jawbone products? Do you happen to have the Jawbone Up2 already and could give me some reviews?

Stressed+i+don+t+know+what+to+write+here+so+i+m_55ad74_3981882

Is it possible to stress that I’m stressing out? Does that makes any sense?! I’m mad at myself for not working better at losing weight. I’m mad that I make excuses all the time. I’m frustrated that I am still the size I am, and that it’s getting warm out and I don’t want to wear anything but sweatshirts because when I wear sweatshirts I can hide behind my clothes. I’m pissed at myself because I think about when I started this journey and how I could actually look right now if I wouldn’t have stopped and made excuses, I wouldn’t look or feel like this. Ugh. Being fat sucks. Being lazy sucks. 

Alright, my openly rant and whine session is done now (hopefully). Needed to get some stuff off my chest. Thanks for listening!

5 thoughts on “I need help and advice…

  1. Brittany says:

    Okay first things first, stop hating on yourself! Every time I would lose weight, I would gain it back (plus more), then I would go on another weight loss spree. These would only last about three months before I quit and gained again.

    So far I’ve been actively pursuing weight loss for four+ months now, and the biggest difference before any time before is my attitude towards myself. If I screw up, I keep getting back-up. When I get back-up I cheer for myself and when I fall I remind myself it’s only human. The biggest thing I tell myself is what is the point of all of this negative self-talk? It has never helped me before, so why not just stop. Essentially it’s about never giving up on yourself and deciding you are worth it.

    As far as fitness trackers go, I have not used jawbone, but I believe most $50+ come with a calorie tracker app. If you’re not using WW, why pay for it? It’s okay to recognize something is not working for you anymore and to find another route. Calorie tracking works great for me because it’s more concrete than points. However, points did work for me at one time. You know yourself best.

    I personally use the fitbit zip every day on my bra then for actual work-outs I will strap on my heart rate monitor. This allows me to keep reaching my walking goals, but also being accurate about my calorie burn during work-out. I eat back half of my work-out calories so it needs to be accurate. I use myfitnesspal for tracking calories, but if you didn’t like it I would find another route.

    Lastly, I know I know I’m writing a freaking book here!, is don’t compare your progress to others. I only lose about 1lb a week, sometimes less. But I follow people here and on instagram who lose 2+lbs a week, Sure, they are all losing faster than me, but it doesn’t make my success any less satisfying. The finish line will still be there regardless of who passed it first, as long as you get there. I know you can do it, and I’m here for you always ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aubrie says:

    I know, I got to stop hating myself. It’s really not getting me anywhere. That’s totally what I’ve been doing as well since I started; lose 15lbs in a couple months and then something happens in my life and I gain it all back. It’s been going on like that since I started. It’s frustrating but also reassuring that I’m not the only one out there with this happening. After a while it feels like, does this only happen to me?!

    In the beginning I had an attitude like yours… take every day one step at a time. If you fail get back up. It some how got “turned off” inside me and I’ve been searching for the on switch ever since.

    I thought about getting the tracker that you stick to yourself, but I’m so forgetful, I will forget it or worse off, lose the thing. I misplace stuff so easily, so I’m thinking one that is on a wrist would work better for me.

    You definitely hit the nail on the head with that; I NEED to stop comparing myself… I’ve been noticing that the green eyed monster comes out every once in awhile when I read other blogs. Don’t get me wrong I’m so incredibly happy for each and every person I read about, its just that little seed of jealously sinks in and I think, “well what the *&@#, why can’t I lose as much as them?” I need to get on your approach. A loss is a loss and it’s a loss no matter the number in the long run.

    Thanks so much for “writing your book” 🙂 It means more than you know to have someone who understands how tough this journey can be and who’s there to listen and help me out when I need it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

    Aubrie, you have to break eggs to make an omelette, Rome wasn’t built in a day etc etc. You have heard all of these before but they are true. So what if you have “fallen off the wagon” you pick yourself up, dust yourself down and get back at it. Never allow catastrophic thinking to take hold. As soon as you do, it’s game over. So what if you mess up and have McDonalds for breakfast, just choose a healthy lunch and dinner. So what if you have ice cream for dessert, just have no more that evening and eat sensibly the next day. The largest amount of failure is attributed to catastrophic thinking. When you believe you have done the damage so you may as well give up. Trust me, if you can kick this thinking to the curb then the bad habits will follow. They may take several months but yu will never give up and eventually it will become second nature.
    You can do it. If I can, anyone can, don’t forget I lost nearly three stone (42Lbs) before I had my surgery by will power alone….
    Go for it!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. ghrelin gremlin says:

    Don’t say anything to/about yourself that you wouldn’t say to/about someone else. You deserve as much respect as you give to others. That said, I also tend to dis myself, so I know the appeal of just saying the worst thing you think about yourself. Especially when there is someone who you can trust to help you see the situation from a different angle… So don’t get mad at yourself for self cruelty. It happens. We’ve all been there. It’s easy to tell you to love yourself unconditionally, but I’m not there, so I won’t pretend I am by preaching what I can’t yet practice. It’s just an ideal.

    How did you do today? I did terribly, as I confessed before. Can you do better tomorrow than you did today? If you can’t manage perfect, just start with “better.” If we can each just make each day better than the last, we will be rejoicing in (and comparing) achievements in no time.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. deborahcrocker says:

    You are exactly where I have been many many times before (my whole adult life).
    Every diet for me was just another failure. Yes I would lose some in the. Beginning but then I gained it back plus more, another failure of many.

    I cried out to God thinking I needed counseling since I was such a total failure. He led me to eat only three meals and half portions. It has been the easiest weight loss ever, slow but easy. I will vote for easy every time. Free too.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

