Happy Mother’s Day!

What a wonderful day today is! A day to celebrate a woman who loved her unborn child so much, she endured an immense amount of pain to have him or her. The woman who stayed up late nights of feeding and changing diapers. The woman who barely got any sleep because she’s a working mom and made sure everything was still functioning at home. The woman who always comes to sporting events because she’s the biggest fan. The woman who fought tirelessly with their teenager over the silliest things because she wants to see them grow up into the best person they can be. The woman who has your back even when you don’t deserve it. The woman who will give everything she has and more to her child.

My mom is the spitting definition of that paragraph! She was a working mom, in fact working two different kind of jobs, one at home and one in a kitchen. She to this day barely gets any sleep! She always came to my sporting events, and she never missed any of my band concerts either! (That alone should be reason enough for her to win $1 million dollars! I was a terrible trumpet player! 😛 ) We argued and yelled at each other (still days we do that) because she cares and she wants me to learn. Some days I see what she’s saying, other times though, I haven’t learned a thing yet. She has my back whenever I need help or someone to listen to my problems. Even if she’s had a bad day, she’ll listen to mine. She gives me everything she has and I definitely don’t deserve it.

The thing though, there’s other types of Mother’s who sometimes don’t get mentioned. The mother’s that really aren’t “mothers”. The figurative mothers. The woman who didn’t give birth to a child, but is there constantly time and again for him or her. I have “second mothers” out there who, well, I honestly don’t know what kinda person I’d be today without their guidance as well.

I see how this day makes some people sad. I lost my grandmothers many, many years back, and every year I see my parents, aunts and uncles, deal with their passing on holidays. I don’t know how they do it, how really anyone does it. The loss of a grandparent was tough on me, I don’t even want to know what it feels like to lose a parent. So for those who have lost a mother and are “motherless” on Mother’s Day, I found a letter this morning online.

A letter to the Motherless on Mother’s day

There’s also another group of women that are sad on days like today. The women who aren’t able to have children. The women, who sadly won’t ever be a mom. My heart breaks for these women. I’ve had the longing, the dreaming and wishing. Having PCOS, this is a definite fear I have. Will I be one of the lucky ones, if I ever actually find someone to settle down with? Or, will I be one of the women who I just mentioned? I saw this blog posting on Facebook around the beginning of this year. I thought I would share it with you as well.

I Could have a baby but she could not


So I want to give a mass shoutout to all moms out there. My wonderful friends who are mommies, the new mommies out there, the moms who have older children, the mommies who have lost children, the Mr. Moms, the adoptive moms, the mom’s who’s children have 4 legs and fur, the mom’s who are there for other people’s kids… who take care and love them just as if they were their own.

This day is for you.

I hope and pray that one day I can walk in the same shoes as you.

Stay fabulous my friends.

3 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

