Hurtful Words.

This past weekend, I had some hurtful words thrown at me that I just can’t shake off. 

Why don’t you just go kill yourself.

I don’t think this person meant it, but honestly I don’t think I really know this person at all. I really can’t wrap my head around why people say the things they say. I know we all say things we don’t mean in the heat of the moment, but there’s some things that just should never be said. 

This was said a couple days ago, but like I said, it’s just really sticking with me. I was in a dark period in high school after my grandparents died. I was depressed about their passing, depressed about my weight, I felt like no one understood me, and just felt so alone. There were days I thought, what would it be like if I just wasn’t here anymore? I’m telling you, it was a very dark time for me. Luckily, I got through it. Hearing those words again though, just rattled me to my core. Yes, I got through it, but there’s others who don’t. Others who live with the feelings of, “well maybe I just should leave and not come back”. They have these feelings all day every day. I think that’s what bothers me most… This person could have said it to someone who is truly hurting inside. 

I’ve had a family member contemplate suicide. Thinking that if someone would have said that to them and they actually had gone through with it, jokingly or not… Makes me upset. 

Suicide is not a joke.

It’s not something to be taken lightly.

Suicide is not a laughing matter.

Please, if you are hurting and are contemplating suicide and need someone to listen or talk to, please get help. Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). * I do not work for National  Suicide Prevention Lifeline*

Don’t let people who say nasty things, take away the fire in your beautiful soul. You are loved, even if you feel like you’re all alone. You truly do matter.

6 thoughts on “Hurtful Words.

  1. Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

    What kind of fu@ktard says something so awful.
    You don’t need people like that in your world Aubrie, arseholes that say such things are simply that, arseholes. They should be terminated at birth. If anyone can say such a hurtful thing then they must have serious problems.
    Really kick it back in their face by living life to the full, smiling overtime you see them and then making sure you let EVERYONE who knows them what a terrible thing they said.
    Most of all, please NEVER listen to crap like that.
    Live your life and enjoy yourself, grow old with grace and respect safe in the knowledge that the person who said that will grow old lonely as fuck and when they are sitting in a home with a blanket on their lap wondering why no one will visit them, well you will be able to pop in and smile in their face and tell them.
    Anyway, thats my two penneth worth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      Completely agree with you! When this person said it I just thought, you have a problem if you can say that about or to someone’s face. Even IF you’re “just kidding” (which they never stated so who knows if it was truth or not).

      I definitely won’t listen to anything like that. I guess like I said the reason it’s sticking with me, is the fact that there are people out there that DO this to this and have this said to them on multiple occasions.

      Thank you for your two pennies worth. It means a lot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loser Megan says:

    Some people just don’t get it. Depression is a hard thing for someone who has never fought it to understand. Those are words I have heard thrown around more than I would like, and it stings every time. I lost a friend to suicide in 2011.

    Telling someone to “just kill themselves” is not ever a joke, or something to be taken lightly.

    You, my dear, are a bright light! I love reading your posts and I enjoy seeing your pictures. Thank you for posting this! People say stupid ignorant things sometimes, but that just means they are not people who are worth paying attention to.

    Keep being wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aubrie says:

      I’m so very sorry that you lost your friend. It’s a terrible thing that people have to go through. I can’t stand how people just throw it out there like its a joke or that it’s just a phrase… It’s cruel and not at all funny! I will never understand the hate that people must feel inside themselves to ever say that to another human being.

      Thank you so much! It’s awesome to know someone is out there reading what I say. It means a lot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

