I ran.

That’s right. You read it right.

I actually ran.

Not for very long or very far, BUT I ran.

I ran twice during my 70+ minute walk. The first short mini run I started off feeling “wow, I like this…” and then I saw people. Now, normally I would stop because, “I don’t want people to witness all of this flopping around.” A little voice screamed out though in me and said, “No. Keep going.” Thank God for that little voice because all of a sudden I had a surge of confidence and just kept going. I ran right past those people (who actually gave me a little wave πŸ™‚ ). Yes I was huffing and puffing it, but I didn’t care.

The second mini running burst came shortly after I caught my breath. I was curious to see how long I could run at a time, so I pulled up the stopwatch on my phone, pushed start and took off. People, this is an all time record for me. This is a huge deal…

I’m not a runner. I’ve never been a runner. In elementary, middle, and high school, I was in sports, and yes we had to run, but I was never good at it, and I would always start and stop right away. I was always the last one back, and I never got the mile done in under 10 minutes. In high school, I got by without doing the mile with the asthma card, so I didn’t even try. In my adult life, I haven’t been able to run even a minute without getting embarrassed someone would see me, feeling like I was going to die, or just having zero motivation to even try. So can you see why this is a huge deal for me? I texted my best friend the minute I finished. I was so proud of myself! I said I was on verge of crying, and even though I didn’t tell her, I actually started to a little.

So if you take away anything from this post, I want it to be that you can do anything if you just believe in yourself and have faith. Throw out theΒ doubts, and just give it a shot. πŸ™‚

You can do it! I believe in you!

6 thoughts on “I ran.

  1. C-La says:

    Great job!!! I am so guilty of stopping around people too and I am so proud of you for not giving into that insecurity. You rock! Now I think I will run this evening too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Worlds Biggest Fridge Magnet says:

    That’s brilliant!
    I have started to do the same and am always sure to try the running when there are fewer people about! How bonkers are we? It is our health and our bodies and I am pretty sure people don’t really care the fact we are trying to run!
    Anyway, keep up the excellent work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

