My Five Favorite Post-Workout Snacks.

When I first started this weight loss journey of mine, I was a total beginner and didn’t even know where to begin. I’ve been on this journey for almost a year, and I still, at times, feel like a total beginner. I’ve been doing a lot of research on what types of food you should be eating post working out. I’ve also found foods that you should eat before working out, but that will be another blog post. So lets get started.

1. Greek Yogurt

I absolutely love greek yogurt. I’m a huge fan of the Yoplait Greek 100 Yogurt, because it’s only 2pp (Points Plus)! What’s wonderful is you can eat it plain or mix it with your favorite smoothie. They’re packed with protein which helps rebuild your muscles after working out. There’s tons of tasty options as well! You can mix it up every time after your workout and not feel like you’re having to eat one flavor every time.

2. bananas

My go-to most days is a banana. We always have tons of them on the counter and they are just so good! Plus, with being on Weight Watcher’s, fruit is 0pp! Bananas are great to eat after a workout because they boost up your energy because it’s rich in carbs, potassium, and magnesium. When you workout you lose both potassium and magnesium. A way to find out if you are in need of a much needed potassium and magnesium boost after your workout is when you get muscle cramps, twitching, and weakness. So, you could kill two birds with one stone by eating a banana smoothie! Bananas work great with protein!

3. Almonds and Pumpkin seeds

Now that it’s getting close to fall I love eating pumpkin seeds! We carve a ton of pumpkins every year so we end up having a TON of pumpkin seeds! They are also high in protein. Almonds and Pumpkin Seeds are also great to eat post workout because they are full of anti-inflamitory goodness.  Eating some even while you’re working out will give you an added boost of energy. Almond butter and bananas? Win win! Check out Nuts.com for some awesome and helpful tips and recipes for healthy snacking!

4. tuna on whole wheat

Sometimes if I workout just before lunch, what I’ll have for lunch is tuna on whole wheat. I first of all love tuna. I’m not a seafood fan, but tuna doesn’t taste like fish to me, tastes more like chicken. (Jessica Simpson moment…) Tuna paired with whole wheat bread is a perfect combination of carbs and protein.

5. chickpeas aka garbonzo beans

Until I tried a recipe I found on Pinterest for Sweet and Salty Chickpeas, I really hadn’t ever even heard of them, much less tried it. Chickpeas are also a great source of carbs and protein. There’s many ways you can eat them too! Hummus is also a wonderful post workout snack as well!

So there’s my list of my favorite, go-to post workout snacks. What are you favorites? Different or the same? Let me know! Love to hear feedback!

One thought on “My Five Favorite Post-Workout Snacks.

Leave a Reply

