2016.

It’s here. The new year.

How did your first day go? Did some habits roll over?

Mine did. Not as bad, but to some extent yes.

I started my day by drinking a Mimosa. Why? Because I for starters had extra champagne from the night before and secondly, mimosa’s are just so good!! I stupidly didn’t eat anything for breakfast besides a cheese stick, but then for lunch at leftovers from last nights dinner. Let’s just back up to NYE…

It started as any other day, except I was in a very chipper mood. The year was coming to an end, and I was trying to think of all the good things that had happened. I don’t know if it’s the old age kicking in (haha I kid…) or that I didn’t have all that many fun adventures in 2015,  but it was so hard to remember all that I did. I mean I remember the basics… Finally joined a gym, road tripped to Chicago, spent time at the lake… I feel like there was more, but I honestly just can’t remember them! After knowing I couldn’t remember all that happened, I left to go to work. This is when everything went down the drain. Work was a nightmare. We didn’t have a stylist there, and of course, everyone and their mother (quite literally) was wanting a haircut. I had to turn away so many people, and I would definitely say about every other person that came in, got extremely pissed and yelled or said not so nice things to me. One lady even made me cry! It was so bad… That’s retail as I’m told though. I just have to shake it off because I have nothing to do with it. It’s hard to do though when you’re the type of person who takes things to heart… very easily. After hours of having people get mad at me, I was really looking forward to getting Caribou Coffee during my break. My mom came and we went off to get our coffee! Caribou had a buy one get one free deal going on for perks members, so I was extremely excited! It always seems like it takes years to finally get something you’ve been craving for all day. Once we got inside and were walking to Caribou, I saw that none of the workers were behind the counter, and that there was a sign in the front… I walked up to it to read that… “CLOSED DUE TO TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES”… Can you imagine the heartache I was feeling?? We asked and it would be quite awhile for them to be up and running again. I only had a half hour break, so we sadly had to leave… with no coffee. I really hadn’t used the bathroom that day because I was so busy telling customers there were no stylists, so I really had to go. I started my way over the bathroom since we couldn’t get coffee and guess what… The bathroom was closed as well. You must know the feeling… The feeling of, “well if one thing is going wrong, everything that follows is going to go to sh*t as well!” Once I finally got back, things didn’t end up getting any better at work. I only had a handful of customers actually buy product, and the rest of the people that came in, still continued to get mad at me.

Once I got home, it was like a weight had been lifted off. My mom was already starting to cook our dinner (we had an appetizer dinner!).

While we ate we watched Spy (love that movie!!!) and had our fair share of laughs. Then, while my mom fell asleep, I continued to stay up until midnight to see the ball drop. I had my annual cry as it dropped and as Auld Lang Syne played and cried even harder while New York, New York played.

My favorite version of Auld Lang Syne =

All in all… Even though my NYE wasn’t the best during the day, my night really ended fantastically. I was safely at home and spent it with my parents and my pups. I was surrounded by family. Isn’t that everyone’s wish? There’s really nothing that I should complain about.


 

My New Year’s Day has been completely awesome. I slept until 9am, watched Hot Pursuit with my mom, and just totally vegged all day. I was able to update my Weight Watcher recipes from plus points to smart points, and then we watched an extremely sappy Hallmark Christmas Movie.

Later in the evening we got together with Connie, Joe, and Sarah and headed to Pizza Ranch for a fun get together, then came back to our house and played games. We played Mad Gab until everyone was sick of it, and then we taught them how to play Nuts. It’s such a fun card game. I was even the big winner! Whoohoo!

So see? It was a fantastic New Year’s Eve/Day for me this year!


 

I thought a lot about what I want my resolutions to be this year and for the longest time, I really only could come up with one thing….

  1. My resolution is to not have a resolution.

Why? Because how many times do people make resolutions and then either never follow through or start, or start and go for a couple months and then stop? Then, after stopping get totally disappointed in themselves and wonder, why did I even make that a resolution?

After I thought of all that, then I started to get mad at myself. Did I not learn to not get disappointed in myself? I’m starting to go right back down the same rabbit hole if I keep this up! So I decided to think of other kind of resolutions for myself instead of the usual “lose 50 pounds”, “stop eating sweets”, and “no more pop”.

  1. Be happy with who I am and in my own skin.
  2. Smile and laugh more (this isn’t going to be hard!)
  3. Slow down and not be in such a rush all the time.
  4. Be a better helper around my house.
  5. Write more on my blog. 🙂

I think that’s a nice start to my list. I mean, I can always add more as the weeks go on. I think I may actually do a good job with my resolutions this year! Whoohoo!


 

Well friends, I think that’s it for today, considering by the time I’m finally finishing this it’s 12:21 am on  January 2nd.

Hey, at least I’m making a post! 😉

I hope you all had a wonderful NYE and NYD and a wonderful, brand new start to 2016.

It’s our year to shine.

Until next time…
Aubrie

4 thoughts on “2016.

  1. Naomi Teeter says:

    Happiest new year to you, Aubrie! I love following you on Instagram. Your voice always reminds me of my own. 😉

    Can’t wait to see how your weight loss progresses in 2016 and how you transform your life. Remember, you’re an inspiration for many women.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

