home front.

FullSizeRender 6.jpg

All marriages have a breaking point.
All families have wounds.
All wars have a cost…

Like many couples, Michael and Jolene Zarkades have to face the pressures of every life – children, careers, bills, chores – even as their twelve-year marriage is falling apart. Then an unexpected deployment sends Jolene deep into harm’s way and leaves defense attorney Michael at home, unaccustomed to being a single parent to their two girls. As a mother, it agonized Jolene to leave her family, but as a soldier she has always understood the true meaning of duty. In her letters home, she paints a rose-colored version of her life on the front lines, shielding her family from the truth. But war will change Jolene in ways that none of them could have foreseen.When tragedy strikes, Michael must face his darkest fear and fight a battle of his own-for everything that matters to his family. At once a profoundly honest look at modern marriage and a dramatic exploration of the toll war takes on an ordinary American family, Home Front is a story of love, loss, heroism, honor, and ultimately, hope.


This book is hands down one of the best books I have every read. I cried throughout the short time I read it. Kristin Hannah… she has a way of writing like I said in the last review. She has such a way with painting out her characters. You fall in love with them from the very beginning and grow with them throughout their journey on paper. I really can’t tell you how much I love this story. This story is told through two points of view – Jolene and her husband Michael.

Jolene – A woman who has seen loss. An American Soldier. A Hero.
Michael – A husband who has lost sight of what matters… Who fights for the woman he loves and his family.

I honestly don’t even want to talk about this story too much, just for the fact that I desperately WANT you to read it! I don’t want to give any spoilers, because this book… It rocked me to my core. I cried so many times… The heartbreaking story of a wife and mother being deployed while having problems in her marriage… The heartbreaking truth of PTSD… There’s a long quote from the book that has stuck with me since I read it –

The brave men and woman standing in front of me are known to all of you. They are our brothers, our sisters, our neighbors, our parents, our children, and our friends. They are our heroes. To the soldiers, and to the families, and to all of those who are supporting our troops, no words can adequately express the depth and breadth of our gratitude. We left at home, the protected, are acutely aware of and thankful for your courage and your sacrifice.

There are no words that we a grateful nation, can offer except thank you. Your willingness to put yourselves in harm’s way to protect us here at home is humbling. We say thank you, and pray that you will be safe. God bless this unit and God bless America.

I can’t recommend this book enough. Honestly. It’s by far one of the best I’ve read by any author. Kristin Hannah is one of the best authors I would definitely say!

Leave a Reply

