angel falls.

IMG_8837

When Mikaela Campbell, beloved wife and mother, falls into a coma, it is up to her husband, Liam, to hold the family together and care for their grieving, frighted children. Doctors tell Liam not to expect a recovery, but he believes that love can accomplish what medical science cannot. Daily he sit at Mikaela’s bedside, telling her stories of the precious life they have built together, hoping against hope that she will wake up. But then he discovers evidence of his wife’s secret past: a hidden first marriage to movie star Julian True.

Desperate to bring Mikaela back at any cost. Liam knows that he must turn to Julian for help. But will that choice cost Liam his wife, his family, and everything he holds dear? One of Kristin Hannah’s most moving novels, Angel Falls is a poignant and unforgettable portrait of marriage and commitment, of an ordinary man who dares to risk everything in the name of love.


It’s official. Kristin Hannah is by far my most favorite author. I just can’t stop reading her books! I tried, and I just can’t stop! I finished this book in a day.  This story is told in five point of views and has four parts.

Mikaela: A woman who is dealing constantly with the heartbreak of her first love; Julian True. She has an accident and falls into a coma.
Liam: Mikaela’s husband. He is a doctor and is relatives to the towns forefathers.
Bret: Liam and Mikaela’s nine year old son.
Rosa: Mikaela’s mother.
Julian True: A celebrity movie star who was once married to Mikaela, and broke her heart.

This book was fantastic! It’s definitely one of those books where it hooks you in the first chapter and leaves you wanting more page after page. It’s filled with laughter and funny parts, but also has moments of tears and heartbreak. It’s one of those books where you say “NO WAY!” and find yourself yelling at the book. I know I found my self randomly laughing in that sense where all you can think of is “Oh my gosh…”. It’s again, one of those books that makes you think. Thoughts of “How would I deal with something like this?” or “If this happened would I do things differently?”.

There was a part in the book that I ended up having to read it over and over again. It struck a nerve in me, and the more I read it, the more it seemed to “click”.

“The measure of a man comes down to moments, spread out like dots of paint on the canvas of life. Everything you were, everything you’ll someday be, resides in the small, seemingly ordinary choices of every day life. It starts early, this random procession of decisions.Should I try out for Little League, should I study for this test, should I wear this seat belt, should I take this drink?

Each decision seems as insignificant as a left turn on an unfamiliar road when you have no destination in mind. But the decisions accumulate until you realize one day that they’ve made you the man that you are.”

I know I’ve thought about my past and wished I did stuff differently, but what it comes down to is this… If I wouldn’t have made those decisions, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. You know what? I like who I am. Yeah there are things that I want to change, but those will just have to be new decisions I make.

In the end, I most definitely recommend reading this book! (Seriously, haven’t read a Kristin Hannah book I didn’t love…) It’s a quick read that will leave you craving for more. The whole time I read this I kinda wished it was a movie as well. Don’t get me wrong, the movie’s are NEVER as good as the book, but this book made me think about which celebrities would play who… It was kinda fun!

Leave a Reply

